...Home Page.


Apostolicity - the One

Authority from Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers

First Ecumenical Council in 325 through Seventh Council in 787


[Under Construction]



Four doctors of the Church (SS. Augustine, Gregory, Jerome, Ambrose)

Four doctors of the Church (SS. Augustine, Gregory, Jerome, Ambrose),
represented with attributes of the Four Evangelists (SS. John, Luke, Matthew, Mark),
painting in the Louvre c. 1516 by Pier Francesco Sacchi





SS. Paraskeva, Gregory the Theologian, John Chrysostom, Basil the Great
15th Century, Pskov in Tretiakov Gallery, Moscow





  Constitutiones Apostolorum - the Apostolic Constitutions (375 - 380 Anno Domini):  
    Eight Books, of which the final chapter of the final book — Chapter 47 of Book 8 — consists of the:  
      Apostolic Canons, of which:  
        Apostolic Canon 34 (sometimes, under a different numbering scheme, Canon 35) speaks directly to the issue of Church organization and regional primacy:  
          The bishops of every nation (or province) must acknowledge him who is first among them and account him as their head, and do nothing of consequence without his consent; but each may do those things only which concern his own parish (or diocese), and the country places (or dependent territories) which belong to it. But neither let him (who is the first) do anything without the consent of all; for so there will be unanimity (or concord), and God will be glorified through the Lord in the Holy Spirit.   principle of reciprocity and mutual concord