...to Home Page.
  ...to Christology.
  ...to Primacy_at_Universal_Level.
...to Orthodox_Catholic_Church.


Coptic Orthodox Church of Alexandria


[Like this entire website, this webpage is under construction]


The Coptic Orthodox Church of Alexandria is second to the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church among the family of Oriental Orthodox Churches in terms of the size of the community of the faithful in Egypt, from 8 million to 16 million, that is, from 10 percent to 20 percent of the current population of Egypt, with an additional c. 4 million in the world-wide diaspora. In terms of historical and current importance the Coptic Church is unquestionably the first in primacy of honor among the Oriental Orthodox Churches, and she is one of the most important Churches in the entire Orthodox-Catholic Church, the Patriarch of Alexandria having been regarded as the second in primacy after Rome within the entire undivided Church until he was moved in 381 to the third position in the overall taxis by the famous Third Canon of the Second Ecumenical Council, the First Council of Constantinople, which read:

"The Bishop of Constantinople, however, shall have the prerogative of honour after the Bishop of Rome because Constantinople is New Rome."




Relics of Saint Mark the Evangelist in Saint Mark's Coptic Orthodox Cathedral on the site of the Church founded by Saint Mark in c. 60 Anno Domini, Alexandria, Egypt. Photograph taken on Pascha - Easter 2011



[insert portrait of Saint Cyril of Alexandria]






[insert portrait of Saint Leo the Great]




Joint Declarations on Christology
Orthodox-Oriental Orthodox
  1987 Middle East Orthodox-Oriental Orthodox Patriarchs Joint Declaration on Christology
  1989 Orthodox-Oriental Orthodox First Agreed Statement on Christology    
  1990 Orthodox-Oriental Orthodox Second Agreed Statement on Christology    
Catholic-Oriental Orthodox
  1973 Common Declaration on Christology of Pope Paul VI and of the Pope of Alexandria, Shenouda III


  1970 Joint Declaration on Christology of Pope Paul VI and Vasken I, Supreme Catholicos-Patriarch of all Armenians
  1996 Common Declaration on Christology of Pope John Paul II and Karekin I Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians
  1997 Common Declaration on Christology of Pope John Paul II and Aram I Keshishian, Armenian Catholicos of Cilicia


  1984 Common Declaration on Christology of Pope John Paul II and Ignatius Zakka I Iwas, Syriac Orthodox Patriarch of Antioch and All the East and Supreme Head of the Universal Syriac Orthodox Church

(Catholic-Syriac: please note that by a decision of a synod in 2000 the name of this particular Church when expressed in the English language was changed from the Syrian Orthodox Church to the Syriac Orthodox Church)